Mongolian Academy of Sciences (MAS)


International Cooperation

As a country situated at the crossroads between Europe and Asia, the Mongolian Academy of Sciences has cooperative arrangements with scientific organizations in Europe and Asia. It is a national member of the Association of Academies of Sciences in Asia (AASA), the Inter Academy Panel (IAP), the International Council for Science (ICSU), the Science Council of Asia (SCA), The Mongolian Academy has established links with the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) as well. At present, the Mongolian Academy has established formal contacts with more than 70 major research and academic organizations in more than 25 countries. In addition, it has signed over 130 agreements and protocols both by the Academy itself as well as by its Institutes with equivalent international academic institutions.

Brief Introduction

The Mongolian Academy of Sciences (MAS) was founded by the Decree of the Presidium of the Great Hural (Assembly) of the Mongolian People’s Republic in 1961 and its new Statutes were defined by the Law of May 23, 1996.

Members of the Academy are elected at its General Assembly.

The General Assembly, the Presidium and the President of the Academy constitute the governing instances of the Academy. The Presidium is a permanent collegiate body of management. The Academy Presidium shall report to the General Assembly on the most important resolutions adopted during the period between General Assembly sessions. The President of the Academy acts as the science and technology adviser to the Prime Minister and to the President of Mongolia.


Under the direct supervision of the Mongolian Academy of Sciences there are 17 research Institutes and centers established at different times:
•Institute of Language and Literature 1921.
•Institute of History 1921.
•Institute of Geography 1926.
•Institute of Astronomy and Geophysics 1957
•Institute of Physics and Technology 1961
•Institute of Chemistry and Chemical Technology 1961.
•Institute of Botany 1961.
•Center for Paleontology 1964.
•Institute of Biology 1965.
•Institute of Geology and Mineral Resources 1966.
•Institute of International Studies 1968.
•Institute of Philosophy, Society and Law 1972.
•Institute of Informatics 1987
•Institute of Geo-ecology 1997.
•International Institute of for the Study of Nomadic Civilization 1998.
•Institute of National Development 1999.
•Institute of Archeology 2002.


Sorry, empty lists in current category!


Sorry, empty lists in current category!


Sorry, empty lists in current category!